NYX (Agnel, Castello & Duthoit)

Isabelle Duthoit – clarinet, voice
Sophie Agnel – piano
Angélica Castelló – paetzold, tapes, electronics

© Guillaume Constantin

“We are unsure whether the music of the trio that will perform in the second part of the evening “comes from heaven or hell,” writes the ArtActs Festival. Agnel tickles the ivory, dives deep into the piano’s gut and finally offers us a special voyage to space. Duthoit first screams, cries, gargles and curses, then grabs her clarinet only to wring and stretch it, producing sounds which, eyes closed, we cannot discern from her own voice. And finally comes Castelló, an amazing sound designer, adding electroacoustic pearls to this masterful ménage à trois. Witchcraft!” (Miha Zadnikar)

concert A l’Improviste à l’Alliance française
France Musique presented by Anne Montaron